Southwestern College Speech and Debate Team Win Top Honors at National Convention

The Southwestern College Speech and Debate Team with coaches Jordan Mills, Graciela Saez-Kleriga and Eric Maag.
The Southwestern College Speech and Debate Team wrapped up their season with two top honors at the Cross Examination Debate Association national tournament at Cal State University, Long Beach on April 3-7.

Southwestern College Leaders Honored by Assemblywoman Shirley Weber

Three Southwestern College leaders are recognized by Assemblywoman Shirley Weber at her annual Salute to Women Leaders of the 79th District.
Assemblywoman Dr. Shirley Weber honored three Southwestern College women at her annual Salute to Women Leaders of the 79th District this week. In a ceremony held Sunday, Weber named Superintendent/President Dr. Kindred Murillo, Southwestern College Black Alliance Co-Presidents Myesha Jackson and Trishana Norquist as women...

Nora Vargas Named 80th Assembly District Woman of the Year

SWC Governing Board Vice President Nora Vargas named the Woman of the Year for the 80th Assembly District.
Southwestern College Governing Board Vice President has been named the Woman of the Year for the 80th Assembly District. In a ceremony on the floor of the California State Assembly on Monday, March 4, Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez presented Vargas with the award. “Every community needs individuals...

The Southwestern College Sun Inducted Into the ACP Hall of Fame

Past and former members of The Sun, Southwestern College employees and The Sun's adviser, Dr. Max Branscomb, after The Sun was inducted into the Hall of Fame on March 2.
The Sun was inducted into the Associated Collegiate Press Hall of Fame at its Midwinter National College Journalism Convention in La Jolla on March 1.

Southwestern College Hires Minou Djawdan Spradley As New Vice President for Academic Affairs

Minou Djawdan Spradley has been hired as the new Vice President for Academic Affairs.
The Southwestern Community College District Governing Board unanimously approved the hiring of Minou Djawdan Spradley as the new vice president for academic affairs at its meeting Tuesday. She will begin March 1. Spradley, who most recently served as the acting vice president of instruction at...

Student Volunteers Prepare Tax Returns For Free

VITA volunteer Aileen Delosreyes, goes over tax information as fellow Southwestern student volunteer looks on
Tax season is a very stressful time of year. Southwestern College's Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) is here to help alleviate the stress. More than 30 Southwestern College students are helping to take the pressure off by providing free tax-preparation and filing services to...

Southwestern College Hosts Bipartisan Congressional Visit

Students and Southwestern College Governing Board members join Congresswoman Virginia Foxx (R, North Carolina) and Congresswoman Susan Davis (D, California) in a demonstration of the college’s drone program.
Rep. Susan Davis (D, California) and Rep. Virginia Foxx (R, North Carolina) visited Southwestern College’s new drone and fermentation programs Saturday as part of the Bipartisan Policy Center’s American Congressional Exchange program.

Southwestern College Again Named a Military Friendly School

Southwestern College celebrates Veterans Day 2018.
Southwestern College has again been named a Military Friendly School by Viqtory Media, publisher of the “Guide to Military Friendly Schools.”

Southwestern College Superintendent/President Kindred Murillo Awarded Phi Theta Kappa’s Paragon Award

Superintendent/President Kindred Murillo at Southwestern College's 57th birthday celebration in September.
Southwestern College Superintendent/President Dr. Kindred Murillo has been honored by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society with the Paragon Award for New Presidents.

Superintendent/President Kindred Murillo Appointed to Governor’s Community College Student Success Funding Formula Committee

Superintendent/President Kindred Murillo has been appointed by Governor Jerry Brown to serve on the Community College Student Success Funding Formula Oversight Committee.